Carnival of Aces July 2016: Make ‘Em Laugh

[Here’s my submission for the Carnival of Aces for July 2016 hosted this month by Mara Jane (thistooshalleventuallypass.wordpress.com) with the topic of Humor. What is a blogging carnival? Check out the master post here!]

laughter-clipart-laughter

What an absolutely fitting topic to follow resiliency! How easily we forget the power of humor in times of trouble. When I read the topic I immediately thought about Singin’ in the Rain (1952), which is a delightful film in my opinion. One of the songs is called “Make ‘Em Laugh” and the chorus says, “Make ’em laugh! Don’t you know everybody wants to laugh?” When taking on oppressors this is something to keep in mind. Can you get your “enemy” to laugh at themsleves? That is a true victory.


Oh, you could study Shakespear and be quite elite,
And you could charm the critics and have nothing to eat,
Just slip on a a banana peel, the world’s at your feet
Make ’em laugh, make ’em laugh, make ’em laugh!
~Donald O’Connor (1952)

One of the coolest bits of advice I got was from a alternative middle school teacher. This woman was like 60 years old and in charge of a rambunctious mixed bag of children with various discipline and learning problems. She said that it’s impossible to stay angry and laugh at the same time. She and the other teachers use humor to keep the peace and keep morale up.

“Humor is also a way of saying something serious.” -T.S. Eliot

If you ever have any doubt about the power of jokes remember that according to the BBC Documentary The Hammer and the Tickle (2006) during Stalin’s time in office, he had over 100,000 people  put in prison for telling jokes about the Soviet system. The Hammer and the Tickle is one of my favorite documentaries and shines a light on the power of humor in even the darkest of times. I feel the message really resonates with this month’s topic and is a good message for aces since even when you’re oppressed or in hard times humor is a way to see those times through, rebel against oppressors, and keep the spirits of your community uplifted for future battles ahead.

The jokes in documentary are my absolute favorite, but because ace jokes are more personal I enjoy them to a strong degree as well. I actually like dirty jokes because in my opinion sex. is. Hilarious. That probably is directly related to me being aro-ace. It shocks people when I get a good belly laugh going at a dirty joke. Somebody asked one of my previous coworkers what’s the “hardest thing he’s ever done?” and he said, “Take a piss in the morning.” and I died. My friend looks over at me shocked as hell and asks “Why the hell are you laughing???” like I’m not supposed to know how dicks work.¯\_(ツ)_/¯

To give credit where credit is due, I follow Ace Aro Jokes on Twitter so any ace jokes I steal would probably come from them.

My favorite joke on Tumblr (don’t remember the post) was “What do you call an asexual in pride colors? Decked out!”

And the best little gem of all:
Jokes
Thanks Zora!

And an honorable mention for giving me a good chuckle today:
Jokes

So to all my fellow aces, go Make ’em Laugh!

2 thoughts on “Carnival of Aces July 2016: Make ‘Em Laugh

Leave a Reply

