15 Day Asexuality Challenge: Day 15

Anything about asexuality that you want to end with.

Whoo! Finally done with the challenge. It was getting hard near the end to post everyday just because of my work schedule and class stuff. For my last post on asexuality I just want to say how proud I am to be asexual. I’m not “out”, but that’s okay. I see my asexual orientation as something private that not everyone needs to know about.

I’m studying cyber security in school so privacy is something I think about a lot. However, just because something is private doesn’t mean it’s something to be ashamed of. I think privacy is important, but I think it’s even more important for LGBT+ folks because it’s a form of protection. A cis-straight-white-male may talk about privacy and privacy issues, but I think privacy is even more important for minorities and gender and sexuality minorities.

I was watching a science channel show-episode on privacy and two of the experts who were talking about how “privacy is a thing of the past” I noticed were white men. The argument could be made that “you don’t need privacy if you don’t have anything to hide”, but if you’re not white, not Christian, not straight, or don’t fit into the “ideal” citizen image privacy isn’t about having something to hide, it’s about being protected by obscurity against hate, disdain, and prejudiced. We need privacy because prejudice exists.

I’m proud of who I am, but until everyone can respect me as I am, they’ll just have to respect my privacy.

Leave a Reply

